Categories
doomsday dreams and visions SHORT STORIES

A mad cat over tornado?

madcatimagesCA7PT42G

READ : Psalms 74 (A prayer for National Deliverance)

At 4:00 am of the 30th of October, 2013 I woke up from a bad dream. It’s long with different plots and settings. The venue is in a seemingly forest near the beach. Three curly-haired young ladies in their school uniforms were eating with me using chopsticks. At first, one of them wanted to show me the correct way of using chopstick cause she’s doubtful of my ability but at the end, she used flattery words instead of criticism. I knew she’s just ashamed because I’m older than her.

Next scene. Queue of trees was facing the beach. A young boy appeared. His face doesn’t looked innocent, but appeared as antagonist with his devilish, sly smile. He was holding a dagger. Using it, he easily had engraved a horizontal straight line around the tree’s body. And right then, the tree was cut ready to fall towards the direction of a unique, gorgeous, rich coconut tree. I never had seen such kind in my life, not even on TV, internet or magazines. Aiming to trample any thing underneath by it’s weight and strength, the huge tree fell destroying some parts of it and not totally the whole tree. It happened because a strong American woman in her 40s suddenly appeared from nowhere just to save the “Tree of life”. As I remembered, that tree looked really strange which has two layers: upper and lower. The upper was partially damaged but the lower was all right though its roots were slightly loosened its grip from the ground making it looked weak and almost collapsing. However, it stood still and strong.

Next scene was on the beach. The water was extremely blue. There were floating cottages. I could see two bridges connecting the cottages together. There’s a seawall dividing the colorless pale water from the extreme blue one. Although the water looked so clean, clear, quiet and peaceful, it seemed artificial to the point that it wasn’t moving. I saw few “tilapia” fish swimming underneath which made me giggle for excitement. I wanted to catch some. On the next cottage, I saw my former student lying comfortably on the bench. I appeared so young like a high school student.

Then from afar, I heard a voice calling me. I recognized it from a famous showbiz personality (Paul Jake Castillo). He asked permission to take a photo while holding his camera. Before I nod, he automatically threw his slipper purposely so that I could stare at its motion and that he could achieve his aim for a better camera angle and the shot to be fancily stolen. “Nice!,” he amusedly said.

Actually, before that thing happened, I asked permission from the manager (the same person I refer as my student), but he strictly disapproved my request. It just turned and showed how hardheaded and disobedient I am in that dream when I insisted to continue the photo-shoot. Next, I rushed towards the cottage to get my camera. While I’m searching. I saw a cat trying to scratch and bite me. I ignored it and from the cottage window, I saw my sister with other friends taking multiple poses from a distance. Paul Jake was holding his camera and seemed having fun with them as his models. I envied them wishing I could had been part of that group pictorial. I regretted telling myself it could had been better if I just stayed there a little longer.

I resume my searching. I mustn’t miss the fun. The mad cat that looked so frighteningly valiant was ready to attack again. When it finally jumped over me, I screamed which woke me up.

RELATE: On Nov 4, 2013, Monday evening, tornado hit Metro Cebu, Philippines. It originated in northern Bohol before crossing the sea and striking the coastal areas in cities of Mandaue, Cebu, Lapu-Lapu and Danao and towns of Compostela and Carmen. It occurred during a thunderstorm caused by tropical depression. It originated from a body of water and traveled from Bohol to Cebu so it can be called a waterspout or tornado that forms over bodies of water like oceans, rivers and lakes causing extensive property damage. As I watched the news on TV, the devastated structure of houses and trees turned upside-down—houses mostly located along the coastline left me in awe.

Does this event have something to do with my dream, or the other way around?

__________________________________________

Four days after I dreamt I was attacked by an angry cat, my co-worker told me that she was bitten by a cat on November 1, the same day I arrived at my aunt’s house, play with my cousin and their cat. I was extra careful while playing with the cat after my bad dream. My colleague was so worried, in fact, I’m the first one she shared her problem with and asked an advice from.  She was so worried which made me forgot to share my dream about the mad cat that attacked me.

What was that dream supposed to convey when in real situation it wasn’t me who was directly affected? Or am I just so damn at interpreting my own dreams? If all my dreams may have come true then I have to wait for the right time for it to happen before I draw conclusion. After all, the God I’m serving is never too late at His promises, signs and wonders. He’s such a God of perfect timing. That dream serves as warning and correction. Warning from a future accident or danger and correction from wrong choices and priorities. I knew He don’t want me to dwell in my worldly passion like photography, my craze and ultimate hobby.