The blessing of family

Days ago, one of my 5 month old kitten died. She’s the closest to me, to the point that she sleeps with me during the night and woke we up at dawn so she’ll poop or pee outside the house.

So eventually, when she got sick, 4 days of not eating anything.. I talked to God. I told Him, “Here we go again Lord. The last time you take all my kittens I knew it because they became my idol. They occupy more of my waking time. But this time, are you dealing again with me? Why is that every time I overly loved my pets, they’ll die?” Then I cried and prayed for my cat, I lay hands to her and speak life to her. But I knew it. She’ll die. God put it in my heart. I knew it, so I was able to accept the fact. God is a jealous God, you know. The problem with me was I’m just too occupied with my pet.

Then 2 days ago, I saw my mom by the gate waiting for me. And I knew it. So I asked her, “Is she already dead?” She’s a little reluctant to answer me, because the last time she saw me cried so much is when my pet cat so dear to me died, that was last year, which I also featured here. I knew that my cat died not because it’s unusual for my mom to be awake by the time I arrived home from work, nor because it’s also unusual for her to stay outside late at night waiting for me. I knew my cat died because the Lord put it in my heart, “She’ll die.”
So what more could I do, but to accept the fact. So I bury her, my mom had just cried. She was surprised by my reaction cause I show no single pain in me. There was even joy inside me. I was released even before the day she died, because Jesus conditioned my heart the time I cried to her asking, “not again Lord..” but He’d answer back, “She would die.” So that news was no surprise to me anymore. He had spoken.

Why people grieve….
It’s not wrong to grieve. In fact, it’s biblical to grieve for your dead loved one, and to cry is a medicine to the soul. The thirst washes the pain away.

However, I learned the fact that the reason why people grieve is because they can not accept the reality of the person’s or any creature’s death or lost yet.
…hence, it’s easier on my part because I accepted the fact, God told me beforehand. Can I reason to Him?

Everything is a matter of decision…
You decide to act on something, telling yourself to do this and that. Like last week, one of the speaker in the bible class I attended to shared on how quick she forgave her dad for murdering her mom. It’s because she decided to forgave him, to act on it by faith. If she didn’t put her faith on God that she’d forgive her dad, she couldn’t look at him directly to the eyes nor could have lived with him peacefully in the same roof.

When I asked my cousin how come he changed. He no longer smoke nor drink. He said, “I just decided. It’s a choice.” Folks, everything is a matter of faith. You put your faith to Jesus, that He’d take care of the things you decided on doing, that He’d help you to consistently do it by renewing your mind, because on the first place He’s the first one to want you to do it.

Since this week’s theme is about family and marriage…allow me to share this.
Last night, my mom confessed to me, “Do you know why you did not grieve for your dead cat? It’s because the moment she died, I prayed to God that He’ll take care of your emotions, that He’ll let you accept it easily and not to grieve over it.” Honestly, I was touched by that motherly confession.
Many times my mom saved me from heartbreak by praying to God to take care of me. That’s moms for! That’s our parents. How many of you did not know that many times our parents are praying for us even it seems they didn’t? That’s how we’re blessed to have parents, so let’s continue honoring them.

To God be the glory!

Leave a Reply

