Book and Movie Review: “The Blessed Life”(guaranteed financial results)

(Sessions 1-4), author/speaker, Robert Morris

 

 

 

blessed life

Session 1 – First things first (30 min)

We must put God firstMatthew 6:21 says “For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”

The Lord says to Moses, “Consecrate to me every firstborn male. The first offspring of every womb among Israelites belongs to me, whether man or animal.” (Exodus 13:1-2)

The clean has to be sacrificed and the unclean has to be redeemed. The first born must be sacrificed or redeemed. The first born belongs to God. We must give the first day of the week to God. The first of your first fruit must be offered to God.

Proverbs 3:9-10 says, “Honour the Lord with your wealth, with the first fruits of all your crops; then your barns will be filled to overflowing, and your vats will brim over with new wine.”

Genesis 4: 3-5 says, “In the course of time Cain brought some of the fruits of the soil as an offering to the Lord. But Abel brought fat portions from some of the firstborn of his flock. The Lord looked with favour on Abel and his offering, but on Cain and his offering he did not look with favour. So Cain was very angry, and his face was downcast.”

The tithe must be first.  Leviticus 27:30 says, “A tithe of everything from the land, whether grain from the soil or fruit from the trees, belongs to the Lord; it is holy to the Lord.”

1 Corinthians 16:1-2 says, “Now about the collection for God’s people: Do what I told the Galatian churches to do. On the first day of every week, each one of you should set aside a sum of money in keeping with his income, saving it up …”

Exodus 13:14-15 says, “In days to come, when your son asks you, ‘What does this mean?’ say to him, ‘With a mighty hand of the Lord brought us out of Egypt, out of the land of slavery. When Pharaoh stubbornly refused to let us go, the Lord killed every firstborn in Egypt, both man and animal. This is why I sacrifice to the Lord the first male offspring of every womb and redeem each of my firstborn sons.”

 

Session 2 – Principle of Multiplication (45 min)

Luke 9:12-17 says, “Late in the afternoon the Twelve Disciples came to him and said, “Send the crowd away so they can go to the surrounding villages and countryside and find food and lodging, because we are in a remote place here. He replied, ‘You give them something to eat.’ They answered, ‘We have only five loaves of bread and two fish—unless we go and buy food for this entire crowd.’ (About five thousand men were there)…Taking the five loaves and the two fish and looking up to heaven, He gave thanks and broke them. Then He gave them to the disciples to set before the people. They all ate and were satisfied, and the disciples picked up the twelve basketfuls of broken pieces that were left over.”

 

Questions of belief and unbelief

People don’t just do what they they’re told. They ask questions. The miracle did not happen in the master’s hand but in the disciples’ hands. It was just given to the Lord and He blesses it. It has to be given away before it multiply.

1. It has to be given to the Lord to be blessed before it can multiply.

2. It has to be given away before it multiply.

Tithing is not giving; it’s returning because it belongs to God.

 Read Matthew 25 about the Parable of the talents

Read Luke 9:16

Tithing and giving is different. Tithing is returning to the Lord what’s His and giving is just giving.

3 kinds of giving:

1. Tithes

2. Offering

3. Extravagant or love offering

 

Session 3 – The Heart Test (45 min)

“I the Lord do not change. Eversince the time of your forefathers you have turned away from my decrees and have not kept them. Return to me, and I will return to you”, says the Lord Almighty.

“But you ask, ‘How are we to return?’

“Will a man rob God? Yet you rob me? But you ask, ‘How do we rob you?’

“In tithes and offerings. You are under a curse—the whole nation of you—because you’re robbing me.  Bring the whole tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house. Test me in this,” says the Lord Almighty, “and see if I will not throw open the floodgates of heaven and pour out so much blessing that you will not have room enough for it. I will prevent pests from devouring your crops, and the vines in your fields will not cast their fruit then all the nations will call you blessed, for yours will be a delightful land.” (Malachi 3:6-12)

Your heart is uncircumcised so Jesus wanted to change your heart.If our heart is changed, it changes every areas of our life.

Matthew 6:21 says,“For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”

God is not after your treasure, He’s after your heart.

1. Tithing is a test. Tithing tests your heart. (Matthew 5:17-19, 21, 27, 28, 33, 34)

2. Tithing is biblical (Genesis 14:18-19; Genesis 28: 22; Leviticus 27:30; Deuteronomy 26:1-3; Matthew 23:23; Hebrews 7:1-7)

3. Tithing is a benefit (2 Chronicles 31:4-10)

Why would we argue on something that could give us benefits?

Benefit versus motive (giving not getting) – If we give, let’s not expect something in return, if someone borrow, don’t expect a return.

Luke 6:30- 36, 38 says,“Give to everyone who asks you, and if anyone takes what belongs to you, do not demand it back. Do to others as you would have them do to you. If you love those who love you, what credit is that to you? Even sinners love those who love them. And if you do good to those who are good to you, what credit is that to you? Even sinners do that. And if you lend to those from whom you expect repayment, what credit is that to you? Even sinners lend to sinners expecting to be repaid in full. But love your enemies, do good to them, and lend to them without expecting anything back. Then your reward will be great, and you will be sons of the Most High, because He is kind to the ungrateful and wicked. Be merciful, just as your father is merciful.

Give and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap. For with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.”

 

Session 4 – Breaking the Spirit of Mammon (45 min)

Luke 16:9, 10, 14, 15 says, “I tell you, use worldly wealth to gain friends for yourselves, so that when it is gone, you will be welcomed in the eternal dwellings.”

“Whoever can be trusted with very little can also be trusted with much, and whoever is dishonest with very little will also be dishonest with much.”

The Pharisees, who loved money, heard all this and were sneering at Jesus. He said to them, “You are the ones who justify yourselves in the eyes of men, but God knows your hearts. What is highly valued among men is detestable in God’s sight.”

 

What is Mammon?

Mammon means riches. It’s a false god from Babylon that rest on money. In the Old Testament, Babylon means confusion.

You can’t serve God and Mammon. Mammon tries to get us to worship money for us to look on money to meet our needs rather than God. Mammon is a spirit of greed and selfishness not of selflessness, sacrifice and generosity.

Money is not our security, but God is.

Anti-Christ rules through the spirit of Mammon.

Is money evil? No, certainly not. Money that is given to God to be blessed is good; otherwise if given to the spirit of Mammon makes it evil. Money is not evil. Greed and selfishness is evil. Money that is not dedicated to God is unrighteous. Money can be used for either temporal or eternal purposes. Money can be used in righteousness or unrighteousness.

The fact that you can choose, pray that you can use your money to invest for people, for winning souls.

“Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moth and rust do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in or steal.” (Matthew 6:19,20)

 Money can be used in the kingdom of God. It can turn into souls for the kingdom of God.

Read Luke 16:10, 12 say,“Whoever can be trusted with very little can also be trusted with much, and whoever is dishonest with very little will also be dishonest with much. So if you have not been trustworthy in handling worldly wealth, who will trust you with true riches? And if you have not been trustworthy with someone else’s property, who will give you property of your own?”

Whatever you have, you have to be a good steward. Let us be good stewards on budgeting, calculating and living below by means.

We are born takers but we are BORN AGAIN givers. We have to renew our minds. Give and let’s see what God can do.

. . .

. . .

My personal Testimony about tithing…

I already mentioned this experience in my post entitled “Why did God allow Catholic Church buildings be destroyed by earthquakes?”

            “On the 7th of October, 2013, two days after the 7.2 magnitude earthquake hit Cebu, Bohol, Siquijor and other part of Mindanao, the Lord was so prompt when He answered my query through dreams and visions. I saw myself, my mom and unknown people inside the church. We’re wearing our best suits. We entered into a separate room inside the church building before the Sunday service began. I saw a white envelope appeared on my hand with money inside. I supposed it was my tithe. Same goes to my mom and other members of that church. We stayed longer inside that solemn room. I’ve never seen that place before and the people were all strangers in my sight. I learned that most of them were in their middle age. Inside was so peaceful but I wondered why we need to wait a little longer. We’re isolated from other church members. I felt we’re asked to wait for instructions.

When I woke up from that dream, I realized that I had forgotten to prepare my tithe (10 % of my salary received) due to the manic earthquake. I usually prepare my tithe right after I received my salary, so I learned that because of the incident (earthquake), God reminded me not to forget my obligation. Thank you Lord! I knew how important tithing is to God.  He wants our heart, sincerity, purity and full submission to Him whenever we come into His presence.”

I also mentioned my wonderful experienced about an elderly man I met at the airport in my post “Angels are so real: that old man and his penny” on how 50 pesos accomplished something!

Days after it happened, I received a blessing! I thought the happiness after you give was enough reward and I thought freedom from greed and selfishness was enough payment from giving or helping the needy. But I was really surprised when on the 1st of February, on my flight back home, I met amazing people at the check-in counter. I expected I’d be excess with my baggage allowance but I wasn’t expecting my excess would be that much. I had 22 kilos baggage checked-in and excess 7 kilos. I supposed to pay 1,400 pesos and I’m about to pay for it when the ground attendant spoke to a man, a passenger in front me and the rest is history. It just happened so fast. I wondered, ‘Are they negotiating? Why do they have to when I’m willing to pay for my excess and I did not even ask any favor?’

Then the agent went back on me with the good news telling, “That man there would get your baggage to be loaded on his and it’s okay for him to share the remaining excess with you.” So instead of 1400, I only paid 300 pesos and saved 1,100 pesos for my excess! See how much my 50 pesos had gone through which I did not expected at all. God is an awesome and faithful God. He doesn’t just want us to bless others but also bless us more in return.

The Holy Spirit has spoken to me today about tithing and giving. It’s not my first time to hear about this like I grew up in the church wherein tithing and generous giving was given importance and preached.

As I was praying, the Holy Spirit spoke to me that it’s not by accident that He let me hear this message for my own advantage alone but to share this message to others.

God bless us all!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

