To revenge is an evil thing

Image

READ: 2 Samuel 1 and 4; 1 Peter 2:13-18; Romans 13:1-2 ; 1 Peter 3:1-2; Hebrews 13:17; Ephesians 6:1-3; Exodus 1:17; 20-21

MEMORISE: “Everyone must obey state authorities, because no authority exists without God’s permission, and the existing authorities have been put there by God. Whoever opposes the existing authority opposes what God has ordered; and anyone who does so will bring judgment on himself.”(Romans 13:1-2)

KEY POINTS: forgiveness

                    : not to pay evil with evil

 

To revenge is an evil thing for there is a great judge, wiser and mightier.

For the price of wickedness is death.

Ecclesiastes 12:14 says: “God is going to judge everything we do, whether good or bad, even things done in secret.”

In 2 Samuel chapters 1 and 4, King Saul attempted to kill David twice and he’d been pursuing David because of jealousy. Yet, every time David had the chance to get rid of his perpetrator, he would simply just let sleeping dogs lie; instead, had spared the king’s life.

1 Samuel 26:21-25 says:

Saul answered, “I have done wrong. Come back, David, my son! I will never harm you again, because you had spared my life tonight! I have been a fool! I have done a terrible thing!”

David replied, “Here is your spear, Your Majesty. Let one of your men come over and get it. The Lord rewards those who are faithful and righteous. Today He put you in my power, but I did not harm you, whom the Lord made king. Just as I spared your life today, may the Lord do the same to me and free me from all troubles!”

Saul said to David, “God bless you, my son! You will succeed in everything you do!”

 

There are two lessons we can learn from David:

1. He highly respect authority and honor God’s anointed king/ruler.

In 1 Samuel 26:8-11, Abishai said to David, “God has put the enemy in your power tonight. Now let me plunge his own spear through him and pin him into the ground with just one blow—I won’t have to strike twice!”

But David said, “You must not harm him! The Lord will certainly punish whoever harms His chosen king. By the living Lord,” David continued, “I know that the Lord himself will kill Saul, either when his time comes to die or when he dies in a battle. The Lord forbids that I should try to harm the one whom the Lord has made king!”

2. He strictly abided God’s law and wanted to please Him all through his lifetime by not doing evil or displeasing his lord.

If you would be David, would you do the same? Would you forgive the one who’d been pursuing you in spite your innocence?

And friends, how do God judge us if He is the only great judge?

1 Samuel 16:7 says:

The Lord said to him, “Pay no attention to how tall and handsome he is. I have rejected him, because I do not judge as people judge. They look at the outward appearance, but I look at the heart.”

Yes, God who is Israel’s majestic God does not lie or change His mind. He is not a human being—He does not change His mind. (1 Samuel 15:29)

Which does the lord prefer: Obedience or Offerings and Sacrifices?

Answer: It is better to obey Him than to sacrifice the best sheep to Him. Rebellion is as bad as witchcraft, and arrogance is as sinful as idolatry. (1 Samuel 15:22-23)

I was then amazed by this Sunday’s topic when the pastor preached about submission-Hypo Tasso. Truly God is in charge! How did that servant of God ever discussed the same story in David’s life right on that very moment after I myself was inspired to write the series of David’s life on my blog? What a coincidence! Or is it or He’s just a God of perfect timing? Certainly. God is ahead and of course He will do the lead. All we just have to do is to follow.

In College days, I didn’t realize that I had been doing the wrong thing when I joined groups of young activists against our government. I shared my countrymen’s plights. I empathise with them wishing to help in whatever way is. When helpless, I just cried for them at night as if crying could stop the raging war or violence or inhumane treatment. At my young age, I’ve witnessed the unjust, unscrupulous society we have, worsened because of the leaders leading the country selfishly and dishonestly. Most of my friends thought I must be so happy for achieving those titles, awards and recognitions both inside and outside the school. They didn’t know that deep inside I was suffering because I feel so weak and useless.

But, why would I have to share this experience when it takes guts to face possible prejudices?

Well then because I wanted to share the blessing…God’s blessing in my life. He had rescued me from destruction, agony, and frustrations. Those days were full of wrong aspirations. I can professed that happiness can’t really be found in achievements, medals, prizes not even on cash at hand! Yuppies must not get me wrong with what I’m saying. It’s not wrong to be excellent in your career; what makes it wrong is when you are making it as your idol if you’re depending your sole happiness from it.

MEDITATE: “For the sake of the Lord submit yourselves to every human authority: to the Emperor, who is the supreme authority, and to the governors, who have been appointed by Him to punish the evildoers and to praise those who do good. For God wants you to silence the ignorant talk of foolish people by the good things you do. Live as free people; do not use, however, your freedom to cover up any evil, but live as God’s slaves. Remember everyone, love other believers, honor God, and respect the emperor.” (1 Peter 2: 13-17)

Isn’t it ironic that my first job after I graduated college is in the government? Who could have imagined that a leftist could be given privilege to work in the government office? See God works and give chances.

GOD IS IN CHARGE: HYPOTASSO…

Hypotasso means submission and honor to the authority.

I often hear this phrase, “A bad government is better than anarchy or no government at all.”

God may give you an unreasonable or bad boss or family or co-worker or friend in order to humble you and mold your character. Like David being shaped and tested by hardships before he finally become the king of Israel, in due time your character will also shine as brighter as how God wants His glory shine upon you today.

 

Leave a Reply

